Re-engaging with the World

I stepped out into the garden yesterday, took my socks off and put my feet in the grass. It was such a simple thing, but it felt so grounding. The birds were singing, a child was talking and having fun from the other side of the fence.

Recently, I've been experiencing a bit of a dip in my mental health. Prolonged ill health (in the form of two successive kidney stone incidents, one of which required an operation) has left me in a rut, while the pandemic hasn't helped. My solution has been to go more online, but that's left me a bit switched off from the world outside. Modern technology, and particularly social media, can be a real hinderance for someone with ADHD and I can find that endless stream of information a little difficult to pull away from. This, despite how terrible it can make me feel.

Breaking unhealthy patterns can be hard, but I feel like yesterday reminded me that sometimes it's about the small things. So, I decided to do the same thing today. And tomorrow maybe I will again, even if it's just for a moment. Because the word isn't so bad once I put away my phone and start listening.

Go back...