April/May Update

Fell a bit behind with updating this journal, so I thought I should write up a small entry. There's been some good things and some bad this past month.

I should probably start with the bad news. I mentioned a few months ago that one of our beloved family cats was very ill. She was finally put down last week. I'm still processing the whole thing, so I don't think I'm quite ready to talk too much about it just yet. I think I will be writing something up about her soon, and perhaps making a page on the site for her.

Other than that, I have been settling into the new job quite well. It's a nice environment with with a genuinely amazing team of people and I'm so happy to be here, even if it's pretty exhausting at times. We're currently gearing up for the summer which, for a heritage site like ours, is set to be a pretty busy time. I'm not exactly looking forward to it but I don't dread it either, which makes it a big improvement to my last job.

I haven't done anything about moving closer. Although the commute is a bit tiresome, I want to be in a more secure position with the job before I commit to renting nearby. My contract is only seasonal, but I'm confident that my supervisors will want to keep me on, so we'll see.

Unfortunately, with the long, busy days I'm working, I've not had much time to work on the website. I've got plenty of ideas though, so once I've got a bit more time on my hands, I'll get back to doing what I love.

Go back...